Category Management Cycle

What is the Category Management Cycle?

The CIPS Category Management model is a 4-phase process with six key activity steps to successfully procure significant categories of spend. You can apply elements of the model when you don’t need to follow the full process.

Category Management should not be confused with expenditure segmentation. It is a structured framework of activities designed to deliver superior procurement outcomes. The cycle can help you to define a category management process.

Download the cycle to use in presentations and share with peers on social media.

Download the additional CIPS category management tools to help segment spend and create opportunities.


Download guide
Initiate 1 Prepare 2a Prioritise 2b Define 3 Implement 4 Maintain 5 Improve 6
Page Loading
Page Loading
Page Loading
Page Loading


This may take up to 30 seconds