Qualifications Review 2018


CIPS has embarked on a review of its professional qualifications from Certificate through to Professional Diploma. This review ensures that CIPS qualifications will continue to meet the future challenges and demands of global organisations and the procurement and supply profession as a whole. The following pages include the latest updates about the qualifications review in descending order.  

    NEW Study Resources

    New resources to support your study for the updated 2018 qualifications available from October 2018

    CIPS will provide a completely new set of study guides with an optional eBook version and a new suite of eLearning to compliment your learning for each module. All will be available to purchase through our website in more currencies, easier and faster than before.

    Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate study guides will be available to buy from our bookshop at the end of October, in plenty of time for you to start your studies for our updated 2018 qualifications.

    There are no changes to the diploma level resources at this time, a further announcement about learning resources for these qualifications will be released at the end of January 2019.

    All of these materials have been produced by educational experts, knowledge specialists, publishers, creatives, graphic designers and copywriters all working together to mix up the way learning is delivered and to improve your overall  experience.

    Study Guides and NEW Ebooks

    From the end of October 2018 new study guides will be available for all of the updated modules in the Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate qualifications only and will be available as a hard copy book.

    NEW Ebook versions of the study guide will also be available from February 2019. You will also be able purchase ebooks as they become available from our improved online shopping basket in more currencies than before, taking away the postage costs and giving you access to your learning whilst on the go.


    New eLearning

    To further compliment your reading our flexible elearning will help you to check your understanding of key procurement and supply topics and explore them in-depth using interactive quizzes, videos and podcasts, plus weblinks to further reading articles which will appeal to all types of learner. eLearning will also be available during 2019.

    Take a look at the demo taken from one of the learning outcomes from the updated 2018 Level 2 Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations. 

    Learning resources costs for 2018

    To help you with future planning here are the learning resources prices for 2018 to support the updated qualifications.  All diploma level resources prices will be shared later this year. 

    You will be able to purchase all learning resources through the website when they become available.  All prices below are in GBP, when you select your currency in the website shopping basket you will get the up to date exchange rates.

    Study guides only will be available from the end of October 2018 for the Level 2 Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations  

    All prices exclude VAT/GST and postage costs

     
     
    Core module: Introducing Procurement and Supply (L2M1)
      Study guide:
    £20.00
    eBook:
    £20.00
    eLearning:
    £20.00
     
     
    Core module: Procurement and Supply Operations (L2M2)
      Study guide:
    £10.00
    eBook:
    £10.00
    eLearning:
    £10.00
     
     
    Core module: Stakeholder Relationships (L2M3)
      Study guide:
    £10.00
    eBook:
    £10.00
    eLearning:
    £10.00
     
     
    Core module: Systems Technology (L2M4)
      Study guide:
    £10.00
    eBook:
    £10.00
    eLearning:
    £10.00
     
     
    Core module: Inventory, Logistics and Expediting (L2M5)
      Study guide:
    £10.00
    eBook:
    £10.00
    eLearning:
    £10.00
     

     
    Full level cost
      Study guides:
    £60.00
    eBooks:
    £60.00
    eLearning:
    £60.00

     

    Study guides only will be available at the end of October 2018 for Level 3 Advanced Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations

    All prices exclude VAT/GST and postage costs

     
     
    Core module: Procurement and Supply Environments (L3M1)
      Study guide:
    £20.00
    eBook:
    £20.00
    eLearning:
    £20.00
     
     
    Core module: Ethical Procurement and Supply (L3M2)
      Study guide:
    £20.00
    eBook:
    £20.00
    eLearning:
    £20.00
     
     
    Core module: Contract Administration (L3M3)
      Study guide:
    £20.00
    eBook:
    £20.00
    eLearning:
    £20.00
     
     
    Core module: Team Dynamics and Change Technology (L3M4)
      Study guide:
    £20.00
    eBook:
    £20.00
    eLearning:
    £20.00
     
     
    Elective module: Socially Responsible Procurement (L3M5)
      Study guide:
    £20.00
    eBook:
    £20.00
    eLearning:
    £20.00
     
     
    Elective module: Socially Responsible Warehousing and Distribution (L3M6)
      Study guide:
    £20.00
    eBook:
    £20.00
    eLearning:
    £20.00

     
    Full level cost
      Study guides:
    £100.00
    eBooks:
    £100.00
    eLearning:
    £100.00

    CIPS Exams in 2019

    Be exam prepared with six exam sessions a year starting in 2019

    From 2019 CIPS will offer exams for the updated 2018 qualifications globally in:

    January March May July September November

    Students can use the additional exam sessions to spread out their studies over a full year

    One of the most significant changes we’ve made to our qualifications is the introduction of computer based exams at all levels. This will enable us to give you more opportunities per year to take exams and get your results more quickly.

    Getting ready for Computer Based Exams [CBE]

    The new computer-based exam functionality is simple and easy to use. You can sit these at our approved CBE centres a full list will be available from November 2018. These new format exams reflect real-life daily working practices and include up-to-date tools to help you to present and edit answers easily. They are designed to test the same level of learning and will be marked with the same rigour and to the same standards as paper-based exams.

    Find out about the new 2019 exam timetable and fees

    Updates to the diploma qualifications in 2019

    Updates to our diploma qualifications in 2019

    The following information is relevant to students currently studying for the following 2013 qualifications:

    • CIPS Level 4 Diploma in Procurement and Supply
    • CIPS Level 5 Advanced Diploma in Procurement and Supply
    • CIPS Level 6 Professional Diploma in Procurement and Supply 


    You can also speak to a CIPS Study Centre about your studies as we provide them with regular updates as the qualifications review progresses.

    When will the changes affect me?
    The remaining opportunities to take exams for the current qualifications are:

    UK International
    November 2018 November 2018
    January 2019*  
    March 2019*  
    May 2019 May 2019

     

      *PD3 and AD3 are not available 

    Global exam timetable for 2019
    For the Level 4 Diploma, Level 5 Advanced Diploma and Level 6 Professional Diploma in Procurement and Supply, the first exams for the updated 2018 qualifications are July 2019 this will be followed with a new more frequent exam timetable. 


    What will the transfer look like from 2013 to 2018 qualifications syllabus?
    Anyone who has passed exams or has been awarded exemptions on 2013 syllabus will be given credits for subjects within the updated 2018 syllabus.  At the end of January 2019 we will provide you with full transfer guidance. This will include an online qualifications transfer planner to help you to fully understand your continuing journey on CIPS qualifications.

    Updated syllabus and transfer arrangements

    Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations

    Go to the updated webpages for each of these qualifications for the full syllabus information.  If you are currently studying you can also see transfer arrangements.

    Students on Level 4 Diploma, Level 5 Advanced Diploma and Level 6 Professional Diploma in Procurement and Supply qualifications:

    The last opportunity to take exams for the 2013 qualifications will be in May 2019. The first exams on the updated 2018 qualififcations will be in July 2019.

    What's new in the updated qualifications?

    Units’ have been renamed as ‘Modules’ at all levels

    In the updated 2018 qualifications syllabus you will notice that we refer to modules rather than units. Each module has an allocated number of credits and new students from 2018 will be expected to complete the required number of credits for each qualification before they can achieve the award.


    What are credits?

    Each module is given a credit value of 3 or 6 credits. At the diploma levels there are also 12 credits modules.

    The total credit number to complete each qualification is:
    Level 2 Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations: 18 credits
    Level 3 Advanced Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations: 30 credits


    Your total learning time has changed

    Credits required for completion


    Only for these two qualifications has the total amount of learning time increased but this won’t affect the number of exams you will have to take to complete these qualifications. Each of the diploma level qualifications will remain the same size and require 60 credits for completion.

    Why have they increased?

    CIPS Qualifications must continue to represent the diverse sectors and skillsets required within the profession. Each qualification has been updated using CIPS Global Standard for Procurement and Supply V3.0 as their base. This Standard reflects current and emerging best practice in procurement and supply. The key for CIPS qualifications is to support the flexibility and agility which the profession requires. They must address the challenges associated with today’s fast moving business environment.

    Computer based exams (CBE)

    CBE will be available worldwide, many of our current exam centres have already started to use the new system. All of the exams for the revised Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations qualifications will be delivered using Objective Response format of CBE. 

    Learning resources

    New learning resources will be required for all of the updated qualifications.  These resources will include new study guides, ebooks and e-learning to support your continuing qualifications journey. Find out more in the learning resources tab above.

    2018/19 Exam timetable


    Remember: Keep your email details up to date to ensure you receive any updates, we will also post any updates on www.cips.org/qualifications2018 and our social media groups.

    The future of CIPS exams

    Read our studying member newsletter March 2018 issue when we first relelased inforamtion about computer based exams.

    What happens next?

    A key element of the review is to ensure that students are not disadvantaged by any changes to the current syllabus. We strongly recommend that you don’t stop or delay your studies; everything you achieve will remain valid with the introduction of the updated 2018 qualifications.

    If you are currrently studying the Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations can take a look at the new syllabus and their transfer arrangements and exam formats.

    Keeping you informed

    Firstly speak to a CIPS Study Centre

    All of our arproved CIPS Study Centres will be able to advise you about your studies and the updates to the qualifications and the introduction of computer based exams.   We provide them with regular updates as the qualifications review progresses and they will be happy to give you guidance about studying and exams.

    If you are studying on your own its very important to keep your contact details up to date in your MyCIPS account at all times as we regularly provide information about the qualifications review to all students in a timely way.

    When will the changes affect me?

    Students on Level 2 CIPS Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations qualifications

    The last exam opportunity on the current qualifications is November 2018, there are no resit opportunities for these qualifications.

    Your first opportunity to take exams for the updated 2018 qualifications will be in March 2019.*

    Students on Level 4 Diploma, Level 5 Advanced Diploma and Level 6 Professional Diploma in Procurement and Supply qualifications

    The last opportunity to take exams on the current syllabus for these diploma level qualifications is May 2019.

    The first opportunity to take exams based on the updated 2018 syllabus will be July 2019.

    *ask your study centre if they plan to offer exams for the updated syllabus in January 2019. 

    Your questions answered

    About Computer based exams

    What will the new system look like?
    Take a look at the demonstration video 3 minutes

    Will Computer Based Exams be available in all areas?

    CBEs will be available globally for OR exams subject to demand. There will be some countries where constructed response exams will remain on paper.  We will continue with two paper-based exam series for constructed response exams per year in May and November in select locations only.

    Embracing Computer Based Exams

    We are taking a country-by-country approach to transferring our exams so that changes are implemented only when a country is ready for them and has the capabilities to administer CBEs.  We will continue to add new CBE centres as more come on board.   

    We will provide an exam venue finder in November 2018.

    What are Computer based exams (CBEs)?
    From July 2018 our Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate exams will be available globally as CBEs in selected locations. A full global roll-out for all CIPS qualifications will commence in 2019 and will include the diploma qualifications. Please contact your study and exam centres to check on available locations and to get more information about availability of CBEs.

    Timelines


    Exam candidates will sit their exam at an exam centre and will be supervised in-person by an invigilator. Instead of taking a paper-based exam, it will be replaced by a computer.

    Candidates will use a locked-down computer, so once the exam commences, candidates cannot navigate away from the exam until it has been securely submitted back to CIPS.

    Will I get a my results sooner?
    Yes. Candidates will receive their results more quickly than paper-based exams.

    Will I get a report on my exam performance?
    Yes. Along with the results, candidates will be given access to a personal report based on their performance of learning outcomes of the module. This will provide you with an indication of which learning outcomes you are strong and those that you will need to gain deeper knowledge and understanding.

    What is the new exam schedule?
    View the key dates and timetables pages for more information.

    How will I access my exam on the day?
    Candidates be given clear instructions by the invigilator. 

    Will there be time to practise?
    Yes. You will be given lots of opportunity to familiarise yourself with the system leading up to the exam allowing you to focus on the exam questions on the day. 

    What happens if we lose internet connection during an exam?
    Our exams can be run at test centres without the need for internet connectivity, so there is no need to be concerned about this. 

    Will CBEs be available at all CIPS exam centres?
    85% of our exam centres can currently accommodate CBEs. For those that can’t we are working with them to ensure that they will have the required facilities. 

    How will CIPS maintain the standards and rigour of exams?

    Our system will hold many different questions based on the learning outcomes for each of our qualifications. Each OR CBE will consist of randomised questions pulled from these question banks which minimises the chances of any candidate getting the same set of questions.

    Will my exam answers be secure?
    Yes. CIPS is not alone in moving to CBE. We will be using a tried and tested system that is currently being used by many other professional bodies.

    About CIPS Qualifications Review 2018

    Why has there been a review?
    The review is undertaken to ensure we continue to offer leading–edge thinking within our syllabus content. As employers demand for talented, qualified professionals continues to grow it’s no surprise to us that the needs and expectations of our learners also evolves.  

    CIPS regularly reviews the structure and content of it’s qualifications.  Part of the reason for this is the commitment we have to our regulator, Ofqual.

    Where do I get further information and who should I contact to discuss how the updated qualifications might impact upon my studies?
    This is the dedicated webpage for updating communications to students about the Qualifications Review 2018. All relevant and up-to-date information can be found here. You should regard this page as your primary source for up to date information about the review.

    You can also speak to a CIPS Study Centre about continuing your studies as we provide them with regular updates as the qualifications review progresses.

    Another way of keeping up to date will be to read your monthly online student newsletter 'Knowledge Update' and look out for CIPS posts in our social media channels. 

    We will also be providing regular email updates so it’s important to keep your email address up-to-date in your MyCIPS account.

    When will the new learning resources be available?      
    All of these resources are currently in production and will be released in time for studying towards the updated qualifications.

    Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations study guides will be available to buy online from the end of October 2018. Ebooks version of the study guides will be available from February 2019 along with elearning.

    Level 4 Diploma, Level 5 Advanced Diploma and Level 6 Professional Diploma in Procurement and Supply, learning resources will be available from March 2019.

    All of the current resources in the Student Zone will continue to be a membership benefit for any of CIPS studying members.

    Why are the updated Certificate qualifications available before Diploma level qualifications?
    This is to give CIPS time to create all of the new resources for CIPS Study Centres and students.  CIPS has committed to producing new resources for tutors and learners in plenty of time before the updated qualifications are available.   

    How much will the new study guides cost?
    Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate prices can be viewed in the NEW Study Resources tab. All Diploma level prices will be made available at the end of January 2019.

    Will books be available online?              
    We are currently developing paper based study guides with an e-books version. We’ve listened to your feedback and our intention is to provide options for both.  Study Guides will be available from the end of October 2018 and ebooks will be available from February 2019.

    How much will e-books cost?   
    Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate prices can be viewed in the NEW Study Resources tab.

    I’m halfway through my studies – what do the changes mean to me?

    There is no need to stop what you are doing as everything already achieved will remain valid. 

    Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations

    If you are currently studying the Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Advanced Certificate in Procurement and Supply Operations you can find out about the transfer arrangements using our online qualifications transfer tool.

    Level 4 Diploma,  Level 5 Advanced Diploma and Level 6 Professional Diploma in Procurement and Supply

    If you are currently studying any of the diploma level qualifications your transition arrangements will be made available at the end of January 2019.

    It’s important to keep your contact details up to date in MyCIPS to ensure you receive update communications.

    Will the way I take exams change? 
    Yes, we’ve listened to your feedback and there will be changes to our exams. More about exams  

    Page Loading
    Page Loading