Exemptions May be Granted Depending on your Prior Learning

Exemptions are a way of making sure that you do not repeat learning that has already been undertaken and formally recognised. Depending on the nature and extent of your prior learning, you may be eligible for exemptions from one or more individual exams.

You can apply by completing the application form below together with a mapping document for the relevant CIPS syllabus to detail your existing qualification and email it to exemptions@cips.org.

Mapping document templates are available for each exemption. View an example of a completed mapping template to use as a guide when submitting your application.

We will also require copies of any relevant syllabus information for the qualification that you have completed. We will advise you of the outcome of your application within four working weeks.


Payments may be submitted by completing the APCL Application Form,  BACS payment or phoning in your debit or credit card details to the CIPS helpdesk +44(0)845 880 1188 and ask for a member of the assessment operations team advising you wish to make a payment for an exemptions application. 

Please select your country below to view the current fee for each module exemption:

    Page Loading
    Page Loading
    Page Loading
    Page Loading


    This may take up to 30 seconds