CIPS Pan African Procurement and SOEPF all about Public Procurement Awards (AAPP) Announcement

CIPS 31 January 2013

CIPS Pan African Procurement and SOEPF all about Public Procurement Awards (AAPP) Announcement

With the overall aim of creating greater awareness and promotion of the procurement profession in Africa, a meeting between CIPS Africa and State Owned Enterprise Procurement Forum (SOEPF) has taken place to initiate a joint partnership of their two separate procurement awards programmes.
SOEPF will be introducing the all new public procurement awards branded as All About Public Procurement Awards (AAPP Awards) which will focus specifically on public sector procurement professionals whilst CIPS Africa is in its 3rd year of running the Pan Africa Procurement Awards covering both public and private sector.

Both parties are seeking to achieve the same goal – with the ultimate goals being to recognise excellent practice across the procurement profession – both public and private and reward and recognise those procurement professionals and organisations doing excellent work.

The plan is to combine both the awards ceremonies, being, “AAPP Awards” and CIPS Pan African awards on the same evening. This approach is aimed at boosting Public Sector Procurement through SOEPF to gain credibility, recognition and promotion of the procurement profession and on the other hand enhance the role and awareness of CIPS Africa among government and-State owned institutions.

SOEPF and CIPS Africa will align the nomination criteria and categories for the awards to ensure continuity and synergy in the nomination and award process. For purposes of continuity, the SOEPF adjudication panel and the CIPS adjudication panel will have representatives to preside over the judging processes.

The entries into the awards remain free of charge with the submissions and adjudication of categories handled by the technology partner MarketSqr Supply Network.. The proposed adjudication panel for the public sector awards are as follows:

1. Dr. Philip Dahwa (CIPS Africa)
2. Prof Neels van Heerden (TUT)
3. Comfort Bunting (PetroSA)
4. Makhosazana Seate (DTI)
5. Kamogelo Mampane (State Owned Enterprise Procurement Forum)

The actual date of the Award ceremony is still to be confirmed, but it is likely that the event will be held within the first two weeks of June 2013 and will be hosted at Emperors Palace.

SOEPF will play a primary role in identifying potential suppliers to market and organize the event. Invitations to the awards event will be sent out jointly from CIPS Africa and SOEPF, with MarketSqr Supply Network again providing the technology platform.

CIPS Managing Director: Mr André Coetzee
SOEPF Representatives: Mr Kamogelo Mampane & Mrs Letticia Letsholo

Please visit the site again for more details and update on the awards. It sure promises to be an exciting event

Page Loading
Page Loading
Page Loading
Page Loading


This may take up to 30 seconds